#youtalksensebritney

“I choose to be a happy person. I choose not to be a bitter person. If I have a bad day, I get really angry with myself and I flip it and I tell myself I’m going to have a good day. I’m going to be strong. I will be strong, and that’s how I choose to be.” – Britney Spears

When I moved to Toronto in 2009, I played Wii Fit for the first time. It’s a game console developed by Nintendo that comes with a balance board to help a player do exercises. The programme features yoga, balance games, strength training, aerobics, and other personalized workout options. It monitors your progress – and bitches at you if you don’t play it continually – so that you can see how far you have come since you started playing. I currently don’t use the Wii Fit because I don’t have a television to connect the console to, but I achieved tangible results when Wii was a regular part of my routine, and I will play it again when I have access to a television.

I played Wii Fit for the first time at my doctor’s house. I created my own Mii and then tried the ski jump, which involved standing on the balancing board, bending my knees, and straightening them so that my Mii would jump and land. I bent my knees, straightened them, and fell backwards off the board onto the hardwood floor, hitting my head and bruising my arse. I sat on the floor for a few minutes and cried out of embarrassment more than pain. Looking back, I could have predicted this happening since I have poor balance. It’s funny now – and I tell the story when my friends and I discuss embarrassing moments – but it was hard then. For the rest of the afternoon, I played the different games while holding onto a support. This became how I regularly played the balance games until playing the Wii actually made my balance better. One day, I realized I didn’t have to hold onto the chair anymore and I could balance on the board without support. This was proof to me that the Wii was working.

My favourite Wii games became boxing, ashtanga yoga, and balance games. I didn’t use the Wii for aerobics because – at the time – I got my aerobic exercise from walking. At this very moment, I could benefit from some serious Wii aerobics. Wii Fit is the perfect way to exercise if done regularly because it offers the player tons of different kinds of exercises that address everything that a person needs to get out of exercise: strength, stretching, stamina, balance, cardiovascular health, and overall mind-body wellness. The variety of exercises and the fun nature of the work prevent boredom. I always looked forward to playing Wii. It made me happy. I never once said to myself, ‘Ugh. I don’t want to play Wii today.’ I always approached it with enthusiasm and excitement, and it paid off. I got stronger, straighter, more balanced, and thinner when I played the Wii. It delivered on everything I needed out of it not just to cure myself, but to be healthy. 

About Norah

writer. aspiring editor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

