#beachbum

My whole family enjoys skiing, which is an activity I have never been able to do. As a child and young teenager, I accompanied my family on skiing vacations but spent most of my time indoors watching movies and reading while they all enjoyed the cold weather and the mountains. I never minded because I didn’t like the cold and I didn’t want to ski. The one time my father convinced me to try downhill skiing with him, he held onto me and skied backwards while I skied forwards and fell. I hated falling, I hated being cold, I hated feeling like I was dead weight to my family (especially to my dad) and I was humiliated that I fell repeatedly in front of other people. One of the most difficult things about having a physical disability is visibly struggling in a public way. I used to give up on activities that I didn’t like or I feared I would fail because I was embarrassed about how doing them made me look to other people (especially since I’d been made fun of for the obviousness of my disability all my life). I hated that any challenge I had could be seen and therefore judged or mocked.

I also tried cross country skiing when I was little; I tried to ski as part of gym class and I can recall trying cross country skiing with my mother (though I don’t recall her intentions for me). Cross country skiing was even more challenging for me than downhill skiing because it required not only balance and stability, but coordination and flexibility that I didn’t have. I recall giving up out of frustration (though people often interpreted it as laziness). This is a behavioural habit that I’ve had all of my life (though I am aware of it and I work to improve on it): if I don’t do well at something at the beginning, I don’t see the point in finishing it or seeing it through if I know that I will fail anyway.

Summer activities have always been easier for me and I took to them better than winter activities. I love swimming and I love spending days at the beach with my family and friends. My ideal vacation doesn’t involve running around doing a million different activities. The best vacation for me involves playing in the ocean or the pool, soaking up the sun, and sleeping late. If I could take a vacation anywhere tomorrow, I would lie on a sun-drenched beach in Malta all day and dance all night. That’s what’s easy, fun, and enjoyable for me.  

About Norah

writer. aspiring editor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #beachbum

  1. nicolanoo says:

    I too dislike the cold – it makes me stiffer and makes me ache more than I do when I’m warm. I’d much rather spend my time by the pool and going dancing like you say.

    • Norah says:

      are you always in pain?

      • nicolanoo says:

        Hmm, I wouldn’t say I’m always in pain but there’s never a daygoes by the something doesn’t ache/hurt/feel tight. What about you?

      • Norah says:

        i’m sorry to hear that. have you ever been for massage? it really helps. i have chronic back pain but, like you, most of my disability-related pain is stiffness and tightness, especially in the backs of my knees.

      • nicolanoo says:

        Yeah I find that works, it’s been far too long since I last had one. For me the main culprits are my back, behind my knees and my hips.

Leave a Reply

