#nopainnogain

Someone found my blog through writing ‘why would I need graston performed on my knees’ into Google, so I thought I would, in essence, answer this question based on my own experience. I do not have the medical training to give a scientific perspective, but I have the personal experience of having graston treatment from a physiotherapist and a chiropractor.

My physiotherapist introduced me to graston. I did not know that such a thing existed until she told me; I wouldn’t have known that I could benefit from the treatment until she made me aware of it. She told me that it was developed by chiropractors and that it would increase my mobility by breaking down the build up of scar tissue in my body. Graston treatments allowed me to walk with straight legs in a way no exercise had – or could – because its focus was not fitness-based. I couldn’t break down the scar tissue with pilates or yoga; it had to be done manually, either with tools or a practitioner’s hands. The effects of graston can be achieved through a technique called rolfing (in which the therapist uses her hands instead of instruments to achieve the same effect).

I learned to walk when my brain was still recovering from trauma, so I walked in an abnormal way because the other parts of my brain compensated for the lack of function I possessed. One of the defining characteristics of my impairment is an abnormal way of walking, but this is a habit that can be broken and retrained with the correct therapy, graston being an element of treatment. My physiotherapist compared my gait to walking in a tunnel: I was bent forward, I dragged my feet (and they clunked), I expended more energy walking because of the effort it took and the abnormality with which it occurred. She had just been trained in the use of graston when I started working with her in a more intensive and athletic-focused manner, and she told me that – while painful – the treatment would help my walking and posture.

Graston worked right away. The procedure itself hurt – it’s like getting a very fast intense sunburn all at once – but I felt the scar tissue breaking down and felt that I had mobility in my knee that I had never had before. When I stood up again and walked, the effect was instantly visible and I felt like I was floating. Graston became a regular part of my weekly physiotherapy and later extended to my Achilles tendon, left hip (to help break down a surgical scar) and my back (which helped reduce my chronic pain).

Why do you need graston performed on your knees? It helps you straighten your knees, move your knees more freely, and walk straighter. It helped me stand taller – physically and metaphorically – and made any exercise I did easier because it increased my range of motion and my mobility.  

About Norah

writer. aspiring editor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

