#fuckinghell

I got into a bit of an argument with someone tonight and said, ‘I’m disabled but I’m not stupid.’ I understand this was a cheap shot, but I was frustrated and sad. People have previously made this assumption: that because I’m physically disabled, I’m also mentally or intellectually disabled. People don’t question my intelligence to my face the way they ask me about my disability when they are curious, but I have had people – outright and in roundabout ways – tell me they think I am unintelligent. I can also sometimes sense when someone thinks I am stupid or believes that my disability has a direct effect on my intelligence and ability to learn. I feel – especially in work situations – that I have to work harder (and very fast) to prove to people around me that I am intelligent. 

About Norah

writer. aspiring editor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

