#mumma

‘I want to live in a world where we don’t have such low expectations of disabled people that we are congratulated for getting out of bed and remembering our own names in the morning.’ – Stella Young

I have been working to overcome my impairment for seven years. No matter how much work I do, there will always be certain things about my disability and my body that I will have to manage. The possibility of pregnancy is a huge concern for me because being pregnant will exacerbate everything I already struggle with: movement, balance, and coordination.

If I ever have a child, I don’t want to be congratulated for being able to be pregnant or for being a mother with a disability. I don’t want my child (or children) to consider me special or exceptional. I just want them to see me as their mother. That’s the most important thing to me.

About Norah

writer. aspiring editor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

